I've intuitively known for a while, that Aluminium found in all commercial deodorants can't be good for one's overall health. 
Now I have learned so much about the toxicity of our body from environmental exposure, and here I'm referring to our own personal biospheres and not merely some abstract concept of environment. The one we are exposed to daily, as we sleep, breath, go about out personal hygiene routines, rehydrate and consume foods.  

So to aluminium - I have an info page about it within The Truth is Brighter Website Pages, it's a cumulative toxin, and Alzheimers sufferers have loads of it stored in their brain tissues. Vaccine Companies include it in most jabs, to serve as an adjuvant, which stimulates the immune system to overreact to the pathogen being introduced into the body. 

I don't wanna get all preachy. Toxins are bad. We should limit them as much as possible. Especially ones known to be associated with serious illness. 

I have tried a few different brands. The first, was FRESCA - I bought it online at organicsaustraliaonline.com.au (GREAT SITE BTW! for ordering all sorts of natural goodies, great prices and fast affordable shipping etc! My current fave.). The Fresca Ocean scented natural deodorant has a bunch of awesome essential oils which all work to keep bacteria at bay. 

If you aren't already clued in on it, we get stinky not because of sweat but due to the bacteria that feeds on our sweat, producing odours that are pewwwy. B.O.

So anything that acts as an antibacterial agent is going to stave off that rankness a lot longer than no deodorant. Which I tried for about a week once, after my kids lots my Fresca roll on deo and I was too povo stricken to spend another $15 on a new one. 

The Fresca Natural Oils Deodorant works well, but its sticky. There is really nothing to keep your underarms dry, so you walk around flapping your arms like a chicken... not the best look LOL. It does keep you from stinking though, and that's always a bonus. It also won an award for being the most effective natural deo - and I agree, it works.

I was desperate when I tried my second natural deodorant, Weleda Brand, made in Switzerland and purchased from my Naturopath.  Again, it was the same principle of essential oils staving off bacterial growth and thus reducing stank. However, it contained only SAGE Oil, and I wasn't a big fan. It was the only scent she had in stock, and I had been going deo free and considering using store bought commercial deo just to get me by until my next online order. 

Sage, isn't my most desired essential oil. Yes, its great for clearing one's house of unwanted energies, but it will probably clear your life of all your friends and associates if you choose to slather that stuff under your pits on a daily basis. Because of my lack of desire to do this to my friends and family, I sprayed only a minimal amount - turns out, that wasn't enough to protect against stank. It was no good, no good at all.

So, I got desperate. I trawled online for the best Natural Deo Reviews around the place. And what I found, was a bunch of similar experiences cited from all over the globe .  Disheartened Mamas who were sweating up a storm and stinking up the place. Sweaty underarms and flapping their wings.  Unpleasantly falling short of deodorant perfection.

But there was one recipe that kept cropping up, and it's the one that I now use PERFECTLY FINE with NO B.O. EVER (so far, and I'm a sweater, yes sirry bob!). I don't even bother doing the whiff test now, I really have found something that works and I'm STOKED.

So here it is my friend : use it for good, use it wisely, use it liberally, it won't stink you out and you can have fun playing with the scents. Adjust to your own desired smell preferences!!!

The Most Awesome Natural Deodorant Recipe, Ever


Ingredients:


1/4 cup of Bi Carb Soda
1/4 cup of raw virgin coconut oil
1/4 cup of arrowroot starch (some people use cornstarch - but there's something about cornstarch possibly allowing yeast growth)
20 - 40 drops essential oil. (I looooove Mandarin, a citrus one is always great, but you can use any you desire. Rose will be my next attempt.) Please ensure that you use quality essential oils, these are not the same as the cheap ones you find at $2 stores. Try online suppliers like organicsaustraliaonline.com.au 


IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR PREGNANT AND BREASTFEEDING WOMEN - DO YOUR RESEARCH ON ESSENTIAL OILS WHICH ARE SAFE FOR USE DURING YOUR STAGE. CLARY SAGE FOR INSTANCE IS NEVER TO BE USED DURING PREGNANCY, MANY OTHER ESSENTIAL OILS CAN HAVE EFFECTS ON THE BODY, INCREASING UTERINE CONTRACTIONS IN THE CASE OF CLARY SAGE. 


I USE MANDARIN BECAUSE I HAD IT LEFT OVER FROM MY PREGNANCY MASSAGE OIL - ALMOND OIL WITH A FEW DROPS OF MANDARIN. I WOULD ENCOURAGE YOU TO DO AS MUCH RESEARCH AS YOU CAN AND THEN USE ONLY A LIMITED AMOUNT OF ESSENTIAL OIL TO PREVENT HARMFUL EFFECTS. CONSULT YOUR NATUROPATH OR DOCTOR. (Though your GP probably won't have the information you need regarding this).


Method:


1) Mix first three ingredients, adjusting if it's too thick or too thin accordingly. It should be about perfect to start with. Add between 20 - 40 odd drops of essential oil. I used about 50 but I'm a lover of mandarin fruit scent lol.


2) Line a small mug or dessert cup with cling wrap. Add the paste to this dooveelacky and  then twist the cling wrap. I then pricked holes in the other side with a pin, hoping to give the mixture a bit of a "Dove deodorant creme" snazz. 


However, I ended up poking so many pin holes in it to achieve this that it became close, but no cigar. If you have an old empty dove or other creme deodorant dispenser hanging around your cupboard space, use that!! It will be awesome! Otherwise, if you've been a spray deodorant woman for years and have no empty containers, don't worry. Just keep your new homemade natural deo in the fridge, in that cup. What will happen - is it will turn hard from being in the fridge. This is due to the coconut oil solidifying at this temperature. 


You can rip the part of the cling wrap that is on the opposite side of the twist you made to tie the deo. Just hold it by the still wrapped part and apply the deodorant from your fridge after your shower. It melts after a few underarm rubs and absorbs well.


The arrowroot starch/cornstarch helps absorb excess sweat, so I don't experience the same tackiness I did from oil only natural deodorants. And the bicarb, coconut oil and natural essential oils all act as antifungal, antimicrobial and antibacterial agents collectively. From memory, bicarb soda creates an alkaline ph - bacteria hate that.


So, have a go for yourself and join the revolution! *Enter Rage Against the Machine Song*

Heather
15/10/2013 03:13:21 pm

Cool, I'll have to try it out! Always looking for a good all-natural deodorant.

Lavilin is next on my list, just saw a fantastic review of the brand: http://nymag.com/thecut/2013/07/any-of-these-hippie-deodorants-work.html

Also, a couple of the ladies in my office rave about it. So figured it's worth a shot!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.